Thursday, March 10, 2016

Man Booker International Prize 2016 Longlist

The first longlist for the new style Man Booker International Prize has been announced, and in true Booker Prize tradition it includes a tiger:

José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola)
A General Theory of Oblivion (Harvill Secker)
Translator: Daniel Hahn

Elena Ferrante (Italy)
The Story of the Lost Child (Europa Editions)
Translator: Ann Goldstein

Han Kang (South Korea)
The Vegetarian (Portobello Books)
Translator: Deborah Smith

Maylis de Kerangal (France)
Mend the Living (Maclehose Press)
Translator: Jessica Moore

Eka Kurniawan (Indonesia)
Man Tiger (Verso Books)
Translator: Labodalih Sembiring

Yan Lianke (China)
The Four Books (Chatto & Windus)
Translator: Carlos Rojas

Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Congo/Austria)
Tram 83 (Jacaranda)
Translator: Roland Glasser

Raduan Nassar (Brazil)
A Cup of Rage (Penguin Modern Classics)
Translator: Stefan Tobler

Marie NDiaye (France)
Ladivine (Maclehose Press)
Translator: Jordan Stump

Kenzaburō Ōe (Japan)
Death by Water (Atlantic Books)
Translator: Deborah Boliner Boem

Aki Ollikainen (Finland)
White Hunger (Peirene Press)
Translators: Emily Jeremiah & Fleur Jeremiah

Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)
A Strangeness in My Mind (Faber & Faber)
Translator: Ekin Oklap

Robert Seethaler (Austria)
A Whole Life (Picador)
Translator: Charlotte Collins

The prize, which used to be for a body of work, was previously awarded to Ismail Kadare (in 2005), Chinua Achebe (2007), Alice Munro (2009), Philip Roth (2011), Lydia Davis (2013) and László Krasznahorkai (2015). It has now merged with The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and become an annual award for a single book (a novel or short stories) translated into English and published in the UK.

This year's judges are chaired by Boyd Tonkin of The Independent. His four co-judges are the poet and author Ruth Padel; the novelist Tahmima Anam; Princeton University professor David Bellos; and Daniel Medin from the American University of Paris.

The shortlist of six books will be revealed on April 14th, with each of the shortlisted authors and translators receiving £1,000. The winner of the £50,000 prize - shared equally by the author and the translator - will be announced at a dinner in London's Victoria & Albert Museum on May 16th. Add to My MSN Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google - Get paid to have your say
Google Book Search
Go Somewhere Else